Hawley to Introduce Resolution Congratulating Kansas City Chiefs on Back-to-Back Super Bowl Wins

Monday, February 12, 2024

U.S. Senator Josh Hawley (R-Mo.) will introduce a resolution congratulating the Kansas City Chiefs on their Super Bowl victory. The resolution – cosponsored by U.S. Senator Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.) – honors the team, the dedicated fans, the Chiefs dynasty, and the Kansas City community.

“Congratulations to Andy Reid, all the players, and Chiefs Kingdom on their Super Bowl victory. These guys played an extraordinary game. They’ve brought Kansas City a dynasty,” said Senator Hawley.

“I couldn’t be prouder of the Kansas City Chiefs for their 10-point comeback to secure their third Super Bowl win in five years. After being counted out all season long, and being told they weren’t the same dominant team as in years past, they showed up where it counts most against a phenomenal 49ers squad. Congratulations to the Chiefs for bringing the Lombardi back to Kansas City, and let’s do it again next year,” said Senator Schmitt.

Senator Hawley has introduced similar resolutions following last year’s victory, and in January 2020 following the Kansas City Chiefs’ first Super Bowl win in more than 50 years.

The text of the resolution can be found here and below.


Congratulating the Kansas City Chiefs on their victory in 
     Super Bowl LVIII in the successful 104th season of 
     the National Football League. 

Whereas, on Sunday, February 11, 2024, the Kansas City 
     Chiefs defeated the San Francisco 49ers by a score of 25
     to 22 to win Super Bowl LVIII in Las Vegas, Nevada;

Whereas the Chiefs made their fourth Super Bowl appear-
     ance and won their third Super Bowl in 5 years;

Whereas this win marks the first time in nearly 20 years and
     the ninth time in NFL history that a team has won back-
     to-back Super Bowls;

Whereas the Chiefs made an exceptional comeback after trail-
     ing the 49ers by 10 points with under 4 minutes remain-
     ing in the first half, making this the third time in 5 years
     that the Chiefs have recovered from a 10-point deficit in
     the Super Bowl;

Whereas head coach Andy Reid led the Chiefs to victory and
     became the fifth head coach to earn 3 Super Bowl vic-

Whereas quarterback Patrick Mahomes completed 34 of 46
     pass attempts for 333 yards and 2 touchdowns, rushed
     9 times for 66 yards, and was named Super Bowl Most
     Valuable Player, making him the third player to have
     won the award 3 times;

Whereas kicker Harrison Butker completed a perfect
     postseason in field goal attempts, set a new Super Bowl
     record with an astounding 57-yard field goal, scored more
     than half of the Chiefs’ total points by being 4-for-4 in
     field goal attempts and 1-for-1 in point-after-touchdown
     attempts, and made a crucial field goal at the end of the
     fourth quarter that tied the score and sent the game into

Whereas tight end Travis Kelce led the team in receiving with
     9 receptions for 93 yards;

Whereas running back Isiah Pachecho rushed 18 times for 59
     yards and had 6 receptions for 33 yards;

Whereas wide receiver Mecole Hardman had 3 receptions for
     57 yards and scored the game-winning touchdown with 3
     seconds remaining in overtime;

Whereas linebacker Nick Bolton was a strong defensive force
     with 13 total tackles;

Whereas wide receiver Marquez Valdes-Scantling had 3 recep-
     tions for 20 yards and 1 touchdown;

Whereas wide receiver Rashee Rice made 6 receptions for 39

Whereas the Chiefs’ defense crucially blocked a point-after-
     touchdown attempt by the 49ers in the fourth quarter;

Whereas, for the second time in NFL history, the Super
     Bowl went into overtime, and the Chiefs made a remark-
     able 75-yard drive to win the game;

Whereas the game-winning drive started with an incredible
     fourth-and-1 scramble from Patrick Mahomes and ended
     with a pivotal 7-yard catch from Travis Kelce, setting up
     a first-and-goal championship-winning touchdown for
     Mecole Hardman;

Whereas, this season, the Chiefs also won—

          (1) the American Football Conference Wild Card
     Playoffs against the Miami Dolphins at home in Arrow-
     head Stadium by a final score of 26 to 7;

          (2) the American Football Conference Divisional
     Playoffs against the Buffalo Bills by a final score of 27
     to 24; and

          (3) the American Football Conference Championship
     against the Baltimore Ravens by a final score of 17 to

Whereas the entire Chiefs’ roster contributed to the Super
     Bowl victory, including Nick Allegretti, Felix Anudike-
     Uzomah, Blake Bell, Nick Bolton, Ekow Boye-Doe, Deon
     Bush, Harrison Butker, Mike Caliendo, Leo Chenal, Cole
     Christiansen, Jack Cochrane, Chamarri Conner, Mike
     Danna, Mike Edwards, Clyde Edwards-Helaire, Neil
     Farrell, Blaine Gabbert, Willie Gay, Noah Gray, Mecole
     Hardman, Darius Harris, Malik Herring, Creed Hum-
     phrey, Richie James, Chris Jones, Nic Jones, George
     Karlaftis, Travis Kelce, Patrick Mahomes, Trent
     McDuffie, Wanya Morris, Lucas Niang, Charles
     Omenihu, Isiah Pacheco, La’Mical Perine, Justin Reid,
     Rashee Rice, Justyn Ross, Donovan Smith, Trey Smith,
     L’Jarius Sneed, Jawaan Taylor, BJ Thompson, Joe
     Thuney, Kadarius Toney, Tommy Townsend, Drue
     Tranquill, Marquez Valdes-Scantling, Jaylen Watson,
     Justin Watson, Tershawn Wharton, Joshua Williams,
     and James Winchester;

Whereas the Chiefs had 3 players ranked in the top 10 of
     the NFL Top 100 Players of 2023, being the only team
     with multiple top 10 selections this year and the second
     team ever with 3 players in the top 10;

Whereas Arrowhead Stadium, home of the Chiefs, holds the
     world record for loudest crowd roar at a sporting event
     with 142.2 decibels;

Whereas the victory of the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl
     LVIII instills an extraordinary sense of pride for Chiefs
     fans in the State of Missouri and across the Midwest;

Whereas people all over the world are asking, “How ‘bout
     those Chiefs?”: Now, therefore, be it

          Resolved, That the Senate—

               (1) congratulates the Kansas City Chiefs and
          their entire staff, Mayor of Kansas City Quinton
          Lucas, Governor of Missouri Mike Parson, and fans
          everywhere of the Kansas City Chiefs for their vic-
          tory in Super Bowl LVIII; and

               (2) respectfully directs the Secretary of the
          Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
          tion to—

                    (A) the chairman and chief executive offi-
               cer of the Kansas City Chiefs, Clark Hunt;

                    (B) the president of the Kansas City
               Chiefs, Mark Donovan; and

                    (C) the head coach of the Kansas City
               Chiefs, Andy Reid.