Senator Hawley to Introduce Resolution Recognizing Kansas City Chiefs as Super Bowl Champions

Monday, February 13, 2023

Today U.S. Senator Josh Hawley (R-Mo.) will introduce a resolution congratulating the Kansas City Chiefs on their Super Bowl victory. The resolution – cosponsored by U.S. Senator Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.) – honors the team, the dedicated fans, and the Kansas City community.

“The Chiefs had a remarkable season, finishing strong with a hard-fought and well-deserved Super Bowl win. The Kansas City community could not be more proud of this team’s accomplishments, and we look forward to their continued success into the future,” said Senator Hawley.

Senator Hawley introduced a similar resolution in January 2020 following the Kansas City Chiefs’ first Super Bowl win in more than 50 years. 

The text of the resolution can be found here and below.


A resolution congratulating the Kansas City Chiefs on their
     victory in Super Bowl LVII in the successful 103rd
     season of the National Football League.

Whereas, on Sunday, February 12, 2023, the Kansas City
     Chiefs (referred to in this preamble as the ‘‘Chiefs’’) defeated
     the Philadelphia Eagles by a score of 38 to 35 to
     win Super Bowl LVII at State Farm Stadium in Glendale,

Whereas the Chiefs, established on August 14, 1959, and
     playing in their 63rd season in the National Football
     League (referred to in this preamble as the ‘‘NFL’’),
     made their fifth Super Bowl appearance, appearing in 3
     out of the past 4 Super Bowls;

Whereas the Chiefs have appeared in 5 consecutive American
     Football Conference Championship games the last 5

Whereas the victory in Super Bowl LVII earned the Chiefs
     their third Super Bowl victory;

Whereas the Chiefs were participants in the first ever Super
     Bowl of 1967;

Whereas the Chiefs began their championship season in the
     great city of St. Joseph, Missouri, holding training camp
     on the campus of Missouri Western State University;

Whereas head coach Andy Reid earned his 22nd postseason
     win, placing him second all-time in number of NFL
     coaches’ playoff wins;

Whereas Andy Reid earned his second Super Bowl victory in
     his 24-year tenure as a head coach in the NFL;

Whereas, in the 2022 NFL season, the Chiefs competed at
     the highest level with a record of 14 wins and 3 losses;

Whereas Orlando Brown Jr., Creed Humphrey, Chris Jones,
     Travis Kelce, Patrick Mahomes, Joe Thuney, and
     Tommy Townsend were all selected to be in the 2023
     NFL Pro Bowl;

Whereas, in Super Bowl LVII—

          (1) Super Bowl LVII MVP and 2022 to 2023 NFL
     MVP Quarterback Patrick Mahomes completed 21 of 27
     pass attempts for 182 yards and 3 touchdowns, with an
     incredible 26-yard run in the fourth quarter, all while
     battling a severe ankle injury;

          (2) Travis Kelce had 6 receptions for 81 yards and
     1 touchdown;

          (3) Harrison Butker kicked the game-winning 27-
     yard field goal to put the Chiefs ahead by 3 points with
     8 seconds remaining in the game;

          (4) Isiah Pacheco carried the ball 15 times for 76
     yards and 1 touchdown;

          (5) Nick Bolton led the team with 8 tackles and a
     fumble recovery for a touchdown;

          (6) Kadarius Toney received a touchdown pass and
     had an astounding 65-yard punt return;

          (7) Skyy Moore received a touchdown pass;

          (8) the Chiefs overcame a 10-point deficit going into
     the second half; and

          (9) the entire Chiefs roster contributed to the victory,
     including Nick Allegretti, Blake Bell, Nick Bolton,
     Orlando Brown, Shane Buechele, Michael Burton, Deon
     Bush, Harrison Butker, Leo Chenal, Frank Clark, Jack
     Cochrane, Bryan Cook, Mike Danna, Carlos Dunlap,
     Clyde Edwards-Helaire, Jody Fortson, Willie Gay, Noah
     Gray, Mecole Hardman, Darius Harris, Chad Henne,
     Malik Herring, Creed Humphrey, Nazeeh Johnson, Chris
     Jones, Ronald Jones, Joshua Kaindoh, George Karlaftis,
     Travis Kelce, Darian Kinnard, Patrick Mahomes, Trent
     McDuffie, Jerick McKinnon, Skyy Moore, Lucas Niang,
     Derrick Nnadi, Isiah Pacheco, Justin Reid, Justyn Ross,
     Khalen Saunders, Trey Smith, JuJu Smith Schuster,
     L’Jarius Sneed, Juan Thornhill, Joe Thuney, Kadarius
     Toney, Tommy Townsend, Marquez Valdez-Scantling,
     Prince Tega Wanogho, Jaylen Watson, Justin Watson,
     Tershawn Wharton, Brandon Williams, Joshua Williams, 
     James Winchester, and Andrew Wylie,

Whereas the Chiefs victory in Super Bowl LVII instills an extraordinary
     sense of pride for all of ‘‘Chiefs Kingdom’’ in
     the States of Missouri and Kansas and across the Midwest;

Whereas people all over the world are asking, ‘‘How ‘bout
     those Chiefs?’’;

Whereas Lamar Hunt founded the Chiefs more than 6 decades
     ago, and helped shape the National Football
     League, including by coining the phrase ‘‘Super Bowl’’;

Whereas the Hunt family deserves great credit for its unwavering
     commitment to, and leadership and support of,
     Chiefs Kingdom: Now, therefore, be it

     Resolved, That the Senate—

           (1) congratulates the Kansas City Chiefs (re
      ferred to in this resolution as the ‘‘Chiefs’’) and
      their entire staff, Mayor of Kansas City Quinton
      Lucas, Governor of Missouri Mike Parson, and loyal
      fans of the Chiefs for their victory in Super Bowl
      LVII; and

           (2) respectfully directs the Secretary of the
      Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu’
      tion to—

                (A) the chairman and Chief Executive Of12
           ficer of the Chiefs, Clark Hunt;

               (B) the president of the Chiefs, Mark

               (C) the head coach of the Chiefs, Andy
           Reid; and

               (D) players Patrick Mahomes, Travis
           Kelce, and Harrison Butker.