Senators Hawley, Schmitt Introduce Resolution Recognizing The Mizzou Tigers as Champions of the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic

Friday, January 12, 2024

Today U.S. Senators Josh Hawley (R-Mo.) and Eric Schmitt (R-Mo) introduced a Senate resolution recognizing the University of Missouri Tigers football team for their victory against the Ohio State Buckeyes in the 2023 Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic.

“Congratulations to Coach Drinkwitz and the Mizzou Tigers on a great season. This was a truly impressive Bowl Game win and there is so much for fans to be excited for next year. We are looking forward to next season – the sky is the limit for this program,” said Senator Josh Hawley.

“This Mizzou team was special. Battling adversity all season long, they came out with a huge bowl win against a potent Ohio State team and took home a host of awards to go with it. Mizzou’s season was full of hard-fought wins and incredible stories, including walk-on turned star Cody Schrader and the continued excellence of Brady Cook, Luther Burden III, and the Mizzou defense. Moving forward, I have no doubt that Coach Drinkwitz will make this season a standard, rather than an outlier. I want to congratulate the Mizzou Tigers on their amazing season and Cotton Bowl win, and look forward to their future successes,” said Senator Eric Schmitt.

Read the full resolution here and below.


A Resolution congratulating the University of Missouri Tigers for winning the 2023 Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic. 

Whereas, on December 29, 2023, the University of Missouri Tigers football team (referred to in this preamble as the ‘‘Tigers’’) defeated the nationally ranked Ohio State University Buckeyes, 14 to 3, to win the 2023 Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic (referred to in this preamble as the ‘‘Cotton Bowl’’); 

Whereas the victory in the Cotton Bowl is a testament to the skill, dedication, and hard work of the Tigers; Whereas the Tigers demonstrated exceptional teamwork and sportsmanship during the Cotton Bowl and throughout the 2023 season; 

Whereas, during the 2023 season, the Tigers achieved a record of 11 wins and 2 losses, defeating the Ohio State University Buckeyes, the University of Arkansas Razorbacks, the University of Florida Gators, the University of Tennessee Volunteers, the University of South Carolina Gamecocks, the University of Kentucky Wildcats, the Vanderbilt University Commodores, the University of Memphis Tigers, the Kansas State University Wildcats, the Middle Tennessee State University Blue Raiders, and the University of South Dakota Coyotes; 

Whereas the Tigers attained a final ranking of 8th in the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association (referred to in this preamble as ‘‘NCAA’’) Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (referred to in this preamble as ‘‘FBS’’) football season; 

Whereas the coaching staff, led by the head coach of the Tigers, Eliah Drinkwitz, provided outstanding leadership and strategy, contributing significantly to the victories throughout the season that culminated with the victory in the Cotton      Bowl and Eliah Drinkwitz being awarded the 2023 Southeastern Conference (referred to in this preamble as ‘‘SEC’’) Football Coach of the Year; 

Whereas the entire student-athlete roster for the Tigers proved to be instrumental in the victory in the Cotton Bowl, including Brady Cook, Sam Horn, Jake Garcia, Cody Schrader, Nathaniel Peat, Jamal Roberts, Tavorus Jones, Theo Wease Jr., Marquis Johnson, Ja’Marion Wayne, Mookie Cooper, Joshua Manning, Mekhi Miller, Tyler Stephens, Brett Norfleet, Jordon Harris, Javon Foster, Marcellus Johnson, Xavier Delgado, Logan Reichert, Connor Tollison, Bence Polgar, Drake Heismeyer, Cam’Ron Johnson, Tristan Wilson, Armand Membou, Mitchell Walters, Darius Robinson, Nyles Gaddy, Austin Firestone, Jayden      Jernigan, Josh Landry, Marquis Gracial, Realus George Jr., Kristian Williams, Johnny Walker Jr., Joe Moore, DJ Wesolak, Chuck Hicks, Dameon Wilson, Ty’Ron Hopper, Triston Newson, Daylan Carnell, Sidney Williams, Kris Abrams-Draine, Marcus Clarke, Joseph Charleston, Tre’Vez Johnson, Phillip Roche, Jaylon Carlies, Marvin Burks Jr., Ennis Rakestraw Jr., Dreyden      Norwood, Shamar McNeil, Luke Bauer, Riley Williams, Harrison Mevis, Blake Craig, Brett Le Blanc, Trey Flint, Luther Burden III, Daniel Blood, Andrew Serrano, Nick Quadrini, Jalen Marshall, Sam Williams, Ky Montgomery, Ryan Hoerstkamp, Logan Muckey, Jack Meyer, Shawn Hendershot, Brandon Solis, Curtis Peagler, Jack McGarry, Xavier Machado, MaKyi Lee, Jack Kautz, Nate Norris, Tommy Reese, Jahkai Lang, Tyson Ellison, Ben Straatmann, Isaac Thompson, Carmycah Glass, Caimin Hayes, Christopher Kreh, Tucker Miller, Devyn Butler, Michael Cox, Boyton Cheney, Ricardo Merriweather, Bryce Jackson, Serigne Tounkara, Nasir Pogue, Anthony Favrow, Noah Flaskamp, Micah Manning, Nicholas Deloach Jr., Will Norris, Dylan Laible, Brayshawn Littlejohn, Tommy Lock, Brett Brown, Demariyon ‘‘Peanut’’ Houston, and Chad Bailey; 

Whereas Brady Cook, named the Offensive Most Valuable Player for the Cotton Bowl, and Johnny Walker Jr., named the Defensive Most Valuable Player for the Cotton Bowl, were acknowledged for their outstanding performances during the Cotton Bowl; 

Whereas several players on the Tigers received recognition during the 2023 season, including—

          (1) 7 players earning 1st or 2nd Team All-SEC honors; 

          (2) 2 players earning Walter Camp All-America honors; and 

          (3) 4 players earning Associated Press All-America honors;

Whereas Cody Schrader, who finished the season with an impressive 1,627 rushing yards and 14 touchdowns, was recognized for his outstanding contributions to the success of the Tigers, receiving the 2023 Burlsworth Trophy, which is awarded annually to the most outstanding college football player at the FBS level who began their college career as a walk-on; and 

Whereas fans of the Tigers demonstrated true passion and dedication in supporting their team throughout the 2023 NCAA Division I FBS football season: Now, therefore, be it 

          Resolved, That the Senate— 

               (1) commends the University of Missouri Tigers 2 football team (referred to in this resolution as the ‘‘Tigers’’) on winning the 2023 Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic; 

               (2) recognizes the achievements, contributions, and dedication of the players, coaches, management, and support staff of the Tigers; 

               (3) congratulates the alumni, students, and faculty of the University of Missouri; 

               (4) recognizes the hard work and commitment of the staff of Faurot Field and AT&T Stadium; and 

               (5) respectfully directs the Secretary of the 4 Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to— 

                    (A) the chancellor of the University of Missouri, Mun Choi; 

                    (B) the director of athletics of the University of Missouri, Desiree Reed-Francois; and 

                    (C) the head coach of the Tigers, Eliah Drinkwitz.